Underground Sun Conversion - Start

Start of "Underground Sun Conversion – FlexStore" project

Start of "Underground Sun Conversion – FlexStore" project

Sustainable storage for the renewable energy system of the future

From December 2020, the “Underground Sun Conversion – Flexible Storage” (USC-FlexStore) project will investigate seasonal storage of large quantities of renewable energy to be made available year round.

This innovative international project is aimed at developing a seasonal, high-volume transformation and storage solution for erratic renewable generation. Energy will be stored safely in gaseous form in underground facilities at depths of over 1,000 metres.

The aim of the project is to take RAG Austria AG’s patented “Underground Sun Conversion” (USC) technology (which involves methanation of CO2 and green H2) to the next level, and to design services based on it. Field tests are planned at RAG’s research facility in Pilsbach (Upper Austria).

Press release 22 January 2021

Geological history in fast motion: renewable natural gas produced from solar power and water, 1,000 metres underground

Geological history in fast motion: renewable natural gas produced from solar power and water, 1,000 metres underground

The successful Underground Sun Storage project, which focused on the storage of wind and solar energy in naturally formed gas reservoirs, is to be taken to the next stage.

Building on the research conducted so far, for the first time the Underground Sun Conversion project will enable production of natural gas directly within a gas reservoir using a microbiological process initiated specifically for this purpose by RAG, and to store it in the same reservoir.
This innovative method is unique worldwide, and recreates the natural process by which gas originates, but shortens it by millions of years – geological history in fast motion.

Project description

Houskapreis 2018 – Audience award

Houskapreis 2018 – Audience award

In the category „university research“ the project „Rechargeable GeoBatteries - Microbial Production and Storage of Renewable Natural Gas in Exploited Reservoirs“ has been honoured with the Houska Award by a professional audience. This project was conducted by Prof.Dr. Andreas P. Loibner (BOKU - University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna) and provides the basis for the “Underground Sun Conversion“ project.

More Details

Work begins on construction of test facility in Pilsbach, Upper Austria

Work begins on construction of test facility in Pilsbach, Upper Austria

Pilsbach / 1st March 2018. Construction of the Underground Sun Conversion test facility at Pilsbach in Upper Austria will start in early March at the same site where the forerunner project, Underground Sun Storage, was successfully carried out. “What we have achieved in the laboratory at the University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences will now be tested in situ. Based on the research results so far, we are confident that we will soon be able to harvest natural gas, produced by us from solar energy, from the Pilsbach natural gas reservoir,” explained Mitteregger.

Press information 1 March 2018

 
Video: Underground Sun Conversion​​​​​​​

Underground Sun Conversion - Start

Start des Projekts "Underground Sun Conversion – FlexStore"

Start des Projekts "Underground Sun Conversion – FlexStore"

Eine nachhaltige Speicherlösung für ein erneuerbares Energiesystem der Zukunft

Erneuerbare Energie saisonal, großvolumig speichern und ganzjährig verfügbar machen – das wird im Projekt „Underground Sun Conversion – Flexible Storage“ (kurz:
„USC-FlexStore“) seit Dezember 2020 untersucht.

Das internationale und innovative Projekt zielt darauf ab, eine saisonale und großvolumige Unwandlungs- und Speicherlösung für die volatilen erneuerbaren Energien bereitzustellen. Die Energiespeicherung erfolgt dabei sicher in Untergrundspeichern in über 1000 Metern Tiefe in Form von gasförmigen Energieträgern.

Ziel des Projektes ist es, die von der RAG Austria AG patentierte „Underground Sun Conversion“ (USC) Technologie (Methanisierung von CO2 und grünem H2) weiterzuentwickeln und darauf basierende Dienstleistungen zu konzipieren. Dazu sind Feldversuche am bereits bestehenden Forschungsstandort der RAG in Pilsbach (Oberösterreich) geplant.

Pressemeldung 22. Jänner 2021

Erdgeschichte im Zeitraffer: Erneuerbares Erdgas aus Sonne und Wasser erzeugt in 1.000 Metern Tiefe

Erdgeschichte im Zeitraffer: Erneuerbares Erdgas aus Sonne und Wasser erzeugt in 1.000 Metern Tiefe

Das erfolgreiche Forschungsprojekt „Underground Sun Storage“ zur Speicherung von Wind- und Sonnenenergie in natürlichen Erdgaslagerstätten wird fortgesetzt.

Mit dem Folgeprojekt „Underground Sun Conversion“ soll es erstmals möglich werden, direkt in einer Erdgaslagerstätte Erdgas durch einen von der RAG gezielt initiierten mikrobiologischen Prozess natürlich zu „erzeugen“ und gleich dort zu speichern.
Mit dieser weltweit einzigartigen und innovativen Methode wird der natürliche Entstehungsprozess von Erdgas nachgebildet, aber gleichzeitig um Millionen von Jahren verkürzt – Erdgeschichte im Zeitraffer.

Projektbeschreibung

Energieversorgung der Zukunft braucht genügend Speicher!

Energieversorgung der Zukunft braucht genügend Speicher!

Unterirdische Umwandlung und Speicherung von Wind- und Sonnenenergie trägt wesentlich zur Versorgungssicherheit bei. „Bereits seit Jahren beschäftigen wir uns mit der Dekarbonisierung und Transformation der Energiesysteme. Mit zunehmendem Ausbau der Energiegewinnung aus erneuerbaren Quellen steigt zugleich auch der Bedarf an großvolumigen und saisonalen Speichern mit denen die jahreszeitlichen Schwankungen von Energieernte (Sommersonne) und Energiebedarf (Winter) ausgeglichen und das gewohnte Maß an Versorgungssicherheit bereitgestellt werden kann. 

Mehr Info


Houskapreis 2018 - Publikumspreis

Houskapreis 2018 - Publikumspreis

In der Kategorie „Universitäre Forschung“ konnte die Universität für Bodenkultur Wien mit dem Projekt „Aufladbare Geobatterien zur Untertage-Sonnenspeicherung“ (Grundlage des „Underground Sun Conversion“ Projektes) unter der Leitung von ao.Univ.Prof. DI Dr. Andreas P. Loibner den Publikumspreis der diesjährigen Houska-Preisverleihung entgegennehmen.

Mehr Info

Bau der Versuchsanlage in Pilsbach/Oberösterreich startet

Bau der Versuchsanlage in Pilsbach/Oberösterreich startet

Pilsbach / 1. März 2018. Mit Anfang März 2018 beginnen die Errichtungsarbeiten der Versuchsanlage „Underground Sun Conversion“ in Pilsbach / Oberösterreich an jenem Platz, wo bereits das Vorgängerprojekt „Underground Sun Storage“ erfolgreich durchgeführt wurde. „Was uns bislang an der Universität für Bodenkultur in Laborversuchen gelungen ist, werden wir nun vor Ort – in situ – testen. Alle bisherigen Forschungsergebnisse stimmen uns zuversichtlich, dass wir bereits in Kürze aus der natürlichen Erdgaslagerstätte Pilsbach von uns aus Sonnenenergie erzeugtes Erdgas „ernten“, also gewinnen, können“, so Mitteregger.

Presseinformation 1. März 2018

Video: Underground Sun Conversion​​​​​​​